T-418 days 9/25/12–One week Cancer Anniversary

Standard

One week anniversary of my cancer diagnosis.  Should I give myself a card?  I go to work today.  Still very weird being there.  Almost no one at work knows; and it’s very hard for me to feel or be myself.

Tonight I tell my board.  I have thought a lot about what am I going to do with the Junior League.  Can I still be President?  I have had many conversations with my friends, friends who have been President.  Conversations with Travis.  Conversations with myself.  A plan is made.  7:00 comes quick.  There I sit in this room with these amazing, intelligent women and I tell them.  I say I have breast cancer.  I get choked up. I look at Stacey and she wills me on. Sometimes, I still can’t believe it when I say it although it’s getting easier.  I tell them the plan.  I tell them I will remain as President and what backup plans are in situations I can’t be there. I tell them the plan for how to tell the membership. They all are very concerned.  I feel so fortunate to be surrounded by such fabulous women who I know will rise to the occasion if it is needed.  The meeting is over and I’m exhausted.  One big announcement down, many more to go.

About cancerchica

I am a mother of 2 kids, Gabriella 10 and Michael 8. I teach second grade. I am engaged to Travis whom also has 2 kids; Connor and Spencer. President of the Junior League of Ann Arbor Diagnosed with Breast Cancer on September 18, 2012 Tumor 1.3 cm ER+ & PR +, Her2+ Stage 1c Lumpectomy on October 17th, 2012 Lymph nodes - and margins clear TCH chemotherapy regimen began on Nov. 18th, 2012 Head shaving party on November 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

