T-408 days 10/5/12–Announcement #__________. Done.

Standard

The first 20 times I told someone I had breast cancer I cried.  Every single time, without fail.  After that, it became robotic. It felt like an out of body experience.  Almost as if what I was saying wasn’t really true and that it really wasn’t me saying cancer.

It becomes exhausting to tell people.  There are so many to tell. My friends, family, acquaintances, co-workers, my kid’s teachers, etc.. Today, I sent out THE e-mail to every person I could think of that should know about my cancer.  When I pressed send I felt such a huge sense of relief.

Next was the letter to the entire junior league membership.  This was more difficult.  It wasn’t just about me, but about what it meant to the league and all of the members of it.  After crafting words for hours I felt that I had said everything I could say.  I pressed send and hoped that it would be well received and there would not be any panic.I was done.  No more announcements,

Most everyone has had beautiful supportive words. But I  have also learned that I have to stop people mid-sentence when they start to tell me the story about their “Aunt Aggie” who died from breast cancer.  Really?  That is neither inspiring or uplifting.  I can’t handle the cancer death stories.  At least not yet, maybe never.

“Sometimes it’s better to say nothing then to say anything at all”

About cancerchica

I am a mother of 2 kids, Gabriella 10 and Michael 8. I teach second grade. I am engaged to Travis whom also has 2 kids; Connor and Spencer. President of the Junior League of Ann Arbor Diagnosed with Breast Cancer on September 18, 2012 Tumor 1.3 cm ER+ & PR +, Her2+ Stage 1c Lumpectomy on October 17th, 2012 Lymph nodes - and margins clear TCH chemotherapy regimen began on Nov. 18th, 2012 Head shaving party on November 19, 2012

One response »

Leave a Reply

