T-411 days 10/2/12-Thumbs down on insurance companies

Standard
English: Woman undergoing a mammogram of the r...

English: Woman undergoing a mammogram of the right breast (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was an insurance companies dream member.  They deduct their money every month out of my paycheck and I never go to the doctors or hospital except for my annual pap and mammogram.  Until now………..now I have become an expensive commodity. The bureaucratic paperwork, referrals, that need to be done just to simply be treated for a disease that I have been giving them money for the last 15 healthy years of my life is ironic.

I receive letters in the mail about why they are not going to cover particular procedures.  I have an idea for the insurance company—fund a machine that can detect abnormalities in young women’s breasts before it becomes cancer.  Or better yet; have mammograms become routine screening before the age of 40. Then maybe you can pay for prevention rather then treatment.

About cancerchica

I am a mother of 2 kids, Gabriella 10 and Michael 8. I teach second grade. I am engaged to Travis whom also has 2 kids; Connor and Spencer. President of the Junior League of Ann Arbor Diagnosed with Breast Cancer on September 18, 2012 Tumor 1.3 cm ER+ & PR +, Her2+ Stage 1c Lumpectomy on October 17th, 2012 Lymph nodes - and margins clear TCH chemotherapy regimen began on Nov. 18th, 2012 Head shaving party on November 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

