T-393 days–October 20, 2012 Wig Shopping & Goodbyes

Standard
Wigs

Wigs (Photo credit: modhousewife)

I am surprised at how quickly I seem to be recovering from surgery.  My arms are still sore to lift at times.  My port in particular seems to be the most tender.  Alethea, Gabriella, Isla and my mom are all headed out for wig shopping today.  Heading to a place that was recommended by a couple of women who have been through this.  It was a small shop and although the shop owner herself has never had cancer she obviously loves wigs.  She wears one all of the time. 

So we begin trying some on; we quickly find a favorite–the long brunette.  I ask her how much it is and she says $600.  $600!!! I can’t believe I am about to spend that amount of money on fake hair.  It almost seems like highway robbery.  The wig shop owner goes onto explain how the wig will only last me for 6 months or so and that I will definitely need another one before my wedding in June.  I nod my head as if I agree with her but I am thinking to myself is she nuts?!?  I am NOT going to spend another $600 on another wig.  This will be the wig that is only worn on special occasions, sorta like the church coat or the fancy dress.  I will wear it if I am going out on the town, that’s it; otherwise you will be seeing me in a hat… Lucy at the deli counter or Bill at the pharmacy….no wig for you folks. 

Gabriella, Alethea and Mom all give me their nod of approval for the wig.  They like it.  I sorta feel like a vixen in it.  My hair has never been this full and luxurious. We talk color, we talk length, we talk about how to take care of the wig….then it is time to pay.  I know that insurance company will not cover the wig or what they term as a “cranial prosthesis”.  They deem it medically unnecessary.  So I swallow the hard pill, pay the money and place the order.  My custom made wig will arrive in 2 weeks. 

So off we go to lunch, later we go pumpkin picking, and eat amazing doughnuts and drink cider.  It was a perfect fall day.  Family, pumpkins, doughnuts, cider, hay rides, mud, and laughter.  It was now time to say goodbye to Alethea and Isla before they catch their plane the next morning.   I say goodbye to Alethea with tears in my eyes and hold her tight.  I don’t know when I’ll see them again and I don’t want the comfort of them being here to end.

About cancerchica

I am a mother of 2 kids, Gabriella 10 and Michael 8. I teach second grade. I am engaged to Travis whom also has 2 kids; Connor and Spencer. President of the Junior League of Ann Arbor Diagnosed with Breast Cancer on September 18, 2012 Tumor 1.3 cm ER+ & PR +, Her2+ Stage 1c Lumpectomy on October 17th, 2012 Lymph nodes - and margins clear TCH chemotherapy regimen began on Nov. 18th, 2012 Head shaving party on November 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

