T-388 days October 25,2012–Post op appointment

Standard
English: pink ribbon

English: pink ribbon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Mom and I drove to Dr. Kulick’s office.  We walked in and went through the typical routine of a doctors appointment.  She walked in and I wanted to give her a hug.  She looked at the scar on my breast from the surgery and the scar on my arm from the port placement.  She was very satisfied with how they were healing and how they looked.  We talked about my results and she said how great it was.  I asked her about the onco test simply because I was so thrilled about the thought of not getting chemotherapy.  That’s when my step became a little heavier and my heart dropped a bit; when she said I won’t be taking the onco type test.  She then went on to explain that since I am Her2 positive that I don’t qualify for the Onco test and am automatically a candidate for chemotherapy.  The fact that I am Her2 positive definitely makes my breast cancer more serious although the tumor was small and there wasn’t even any cancer in my lymph nodes.  Basically the fact that I am Her2 positive makes my risk of getting cancer anywhere in my body again 35% where as women who have breast cancer with Her2 negative have a 12% chance of getting cancer again.  Thus, there is a chance that the cancer could have a micro metastasized somewhere else in my body that would not be picked up by any tests.  The chemotherapy would most likely take care of any cancer that may have jumped my lymph nodes and set up shop somewhere else in my body.  I am comforted in knowing that Dr. Kulick did a fabulous job on me–my scar is minimal, she was able to remove my lymph nodes from the same incision where she removed the tumor, thus having one less scar to heal.  The port insertion continues to be more bothersome then  I ever thought would be, but she was not concerned about that and said it was all very normal.

After the visit with Dr. Kulick my mom and I went upstairs to visit my Nurse Angel Karen.  I wanted my mom to meet her.  As always when I see her I am filled with such a sense of comfort.  This was a good day and I am blessed with so many fabulous people in my life.

Leave a Reply

