T-389 days October 24, 2012–Lymph Nodes are clear!

Standard
Lymph Nodes of the Upper Limb and Breast

Lymph Nodes of the Upper Limb and Breast (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I woke up anticipating the days news.  I knew that a very important phone call was to happen today.  The day I would find out if the cancer was contained in my breast or if it had spread into other areas of my body.  Every hour of the day felt like three, every ring of my phone call made me jump….it was 5:00 and still no news.  The nurse called me to tell me that Dr. Kulick was stuck in surgery and would be sure to call me when she was complete.  What time could that be?  The nurse did not know.  The day seemed to drag by….I plodded through the day, picking my kids up, going to dinner, taking Gabriella to ballet, heading to Panera where Michael and I hang out when she is dancing.

Panera Bread

Panera Bread (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There we were standing in line at Panera ready to place my order when my phone rang with that familiar number that ends in zero.  I stopped mid-sentence and stepped out of line and ran to a corner and feverishly answered the call.  On the other end was the familiar voice of the nurse.  She told me that Dr. Kulick was still in surgery but if I’m ok with it that she could tell me the results.  I anxiously told her yes I want to know!!!  She then said “All of the cancer was removed, the margins were clear, and there was no cancer present in your lymph nodes“.  I yelled yes out loud, made a fist pump in the air and my eyes filled with tears.  She then told me that I would have an Onco type DX test to determine the need for chemotherapy.  I might not need to do chemo?  That would be amazing!  I hung up the phone feeling the world lifted off my shoulders, a lightness to  my step and a smile I couldn’t take off my face.  I gave Michael a huge hug and tons of kisses on his face.  No one at Panera seemed to notice or care–U of M college students are too into themselves…thankfully. In that moment  I knew I was going to be alright!  I would beat this!! This was manageable, defeatable and I would win this war!  Michael and I stepped back into line to order some cookies and coffee to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

