T-382 days October 31, 2012-Happy Halloween

Standard

photo (3)photo (4)photo (5)For the first time since I have been teaching I didn’t dress up for Halloween.  It all seems surreal……going to work right now….when I all think about is my cancer….when every time my phone rings I need to run and answer it because it is a doctor.  Knowing that my leave will be happening soon.

Driving home from work I became melancholy thinking about Halloween with my kids, still filled with fear wondering if this would be one of the last.  My eyes welled up with tears and I knew at that moment I needed to fully dive into the Halloween experience.  I picked up the kids and they were bubbling with excitement about getting dressed in their costumes and getting candy.  This year Gabriella was going to be Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz and Michael was going to be a soccer player from Spain.  Spencer was going to dress up as Zombie and Travis and Connor had masks.  We arrived at home with pizza in our arms, quickly wolfed down the food, and then began the flurry of putting on costumes.   The kids asked what I was going to dress up and I as the n sound started to come out of my mouth for the word nothing I stopped and said “it’s a surprise”.  What was I going to be?  I quickly remembered the witch hat and thought how I could pull something together to be a witch.  I came out and revealed my costume…..the kids loved it.

We began the walk around our new neighborhood as the kids ran from door to door screeching about the fabulous candy they received from the homes I just smiled thinking of how lucky I was to be with them and see such pure joy.

About cancerchica

I am a mother of 2 kids, Gabriella 10 and Michael 8. I teach second grade. I am engaged to Travis whom also has 2 kids; Connor and Spencer. President of the Junior League of Ann Arbor Diagnosed with Breast Cancer on September 18, 2012 Tumor 1.3 cm ER+ & PR +, Her2+ Stage 1c Lumpectomy on October 17th, 2012 Lymph nodes - and margins clear TCH chemotherapy regimen began on Nov. 18th, 2012 Head shaving party on November 19, 2012

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

